The Beach Boys – Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!)


In Stock

Quick Overview

• Hybrid Stereo/Mono SACD
• Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio from the original master tapes or best sources available
• Original mono mixes created under Brian Wilson’s supervision
• Stereo mixes produced by Mark Linett and Alan Boyd
• Compatible with both SACD and CD players
SKU: CAPSA065. Category: .

Product Description

The Beach Boys Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!) on Hybrid Stereo/Mono SACD

Analogue Productions Beach Boys Reissue Series!
Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
Analogue Productions is pleased to announce that they will be reissuing 14 of the most classic, best-sounding Beach Boystitles, each expertly mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearant Audio and presented in “old style” Stoughton Printing tip-on jackets. 200g Mono editions of Surfin’ SafariSurfin’ USA Surfer GirlLittle Deuce Coupe and Shut Down Vol. 2 will be issued in December 2014 followed by 200g Stereo editions of Surfin’ USASurfer GirlLittle Deuce Coupe and Shut Down Vol. 2 in January 2015. 200g Mono & Stereo editions of All Summer LongToday!Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!)Beach Boys’ Party!Pet Sounds and Smiley Smile plus 200g Stereo editions of Sunflower, Surf’s Up andHolland will follow later in 2015. Hybrid SACD editions of each album will also be available.
Apart from Surfin’ Safari, which was mono only, the Beach Boys did turn in stereo masters on all of their early albums up until 1965. Today! was the first LP for which they only delivered a mono master. But there’s no disputing that the close harmonies and one-of-a-kind rhythms of hits like “Surfer Girl,” “In My Room,” “Little Deuce Coupe” and more lend themselves naturally to stereo. So Analogue Productions has got your 2-channel needs covered with prime stereo mix versions of 13 titles as well.
The stereo editions of Surfin’ USASurfer GirlLittle Deuce CoupeShut Down Vol. 2 and All Summer Long were all mixed in stereo by their own preferred engineer, Chuck Britz, ostensibly under the group’s supervision. All of the newer stereo mixes on these remastered albums (Today!Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!)Beach Boys’ Party!Pet Sounds andSmiley Smile) were all done by Mark Linett on behalf of the Beach Boys.
“Brian may or may not have been present for those mixing sessions – evidence suggests that he trusted Chuck’s skills enough to let him prepare those mixes on his own – but the group held onto their multitrack tapes and delivered stereo masters to Capitol, rather than allowing Capitol to prepare their own stereo versions. Later, when Brian was only delivering mono masters, Capitol would prepare the Duophonic pseudo stereo editions for the stereo market,” says Alan Boyd, producer and Beach Boys’ archivist.
Mastered by Kevin Gray, most from the original master tapes or best sources available, these are awesome recordings to experience and the look of each album befits its sonic superiority. All 14 of the Beach Boys Analogue Productions reissues will be offered on Hybrid SACD with Surfin’ Safari only available on Hybrid Mono SACD and Pet Soundsoffered in 5.1 Multichannel with both the Mono and Stereo Mixes.
1965’s Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!) was the second of three Beach Boy albums issued that year and it marked a major turning point for the band, and especially the exhausted Brian Wilson. It was around this time that Wilson gave up touring, and many consider this the beginning of an artistic maturation which would come to full fruition on the Beach Boys1996 opus Pet Sounds. Their ninth overall, the album includes the two monster singles “Help Me, Rhonda” and “California Girls.”
The Beach Boys Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!) Track Listing:
1.  The Girl From New York City
2.  Amusement Parks U.S.A.
3.  Then I Kissed Her
4.  Salt Lake City
5.  Girl Don’t Tell Me
6.  Help Me, Rhonda
7.  California Girls
8.  Let Him Run Wild
9.  You’re So Good To Me
10. Summer Means New Love
11. I’m Bugged At My Ol’ Man
12. And Your Dream Comes True


Additional Information

Weight 0.1 kg