Ayako Hosokawa – A Whisper of Love 180g Vinyl LP


Out of Stock

Quick Overview

Returning to her early Three Blind Mice period form, Ayako Hosokawa delivered one of her most popular albums ever in 1993 with A Whisper of Love. Working with a fine ensemble of American jazz players (along with pianist Shota Osabe on two tracks), her delivery had developed a quiet confidence: relaxed and playful. Available for the first time ever on 180-gram vinyl LP, this great set of classic torch songs gives Ms. Hosokawa a matchless showcase for her melifluous tone and buttery delivery. We have tightened up the running order for a more focused listening experience, including all the best tracks from the original CD.

Cut by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio, you can once again enjoy one of TBM’s most popular singers in your listening room with the assurance of quality Impex is heralded for. Quiet surfaces allow the crystal clear tone to shine every time you play the LP, again and again.

We created a new design for the back of the jacket, including new design elements and photos from the Three Blind Mice archive. The iconic front cover was left intact. Come experience anew this great TBM classic in its vital new form.” – IMPEX RECORDS

SKU: IMP6023. Category: . Tag: .

Product Description

Ayako Hosokawa was the darling of Three Blind Mice Records. Her sweet and charming demeanor was perfectly matched to a honey-dripped alto and playful interpretations. She had two early-career hits for Tee Fujii’s label, To Mr. Wonderful and No Tears, both popular releases for the singer.

But there is a special place in many jazz-vocal-lovers’ hearts for her 1993 effort A Whisper of Love, a late hit for TBM and an enduring classic in East Asian countries. Working with top-notch American session players (Tee Carson, Jimmie Smith,Ray Loeckle and John Hettel) and recorded in her adopted home of San Francisco, Hosokawa has never been smoother or more comfortable than she is here.

Now A Whisper Of Love is appearing on 180g vinyl and 24K Gold CD for the first time courtesy of Impex Records. They’ve also shortened the playlist and created new artwork for the jacket’s back. The eight tracks are the finest example ofAyako Hosokawa’s vocal and interpretive prowess: smoothly swinging and delightfully playful. This is a rare opportunity to experience Three Blind Mice’s premiere singer in a surprising new way.

• Numbered Limited Edition
• Ayako’s mid-period classic, now available for the first time on 180-gram LP and 24K Gold CD
• Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
• New photographs of the artist from the Three Blind Mice/Sony Music Archive
• Shortened playlist
• New artwork for the jacket’s back

1. Dream A Little Dream of Me
2. Too Young
3. Sea of Love
4. That’s All
1. Tea For Two
2. These Foolish Things
3. I Wish You Love
4. It’s All in the Game

Additional Information

Weight 0.5 kg
Dimensions 35 × 35 × 5 cm





Vinyl Type