Out of Stock

SKU: LAP8214. Category: . Tag: .

Product Description

Dusty Springfield Dusty In Memphis on 200g 45RPM 2LP from Analogue Productions

Legendary Soul Record Ranks #89 on Rolling Stone‘s 500 Greatest Albums of All Time List: Produced and Arranged by Jerry Wexler and Arif Mardin

Includes Seminal Tracks Such as “Son of a Preacher Man” and “Breakfast in Bed”

This is THE Definitive-Sounding Edition: Long-Time Audiophile Favorite Glows With Warmth, Transparency, Detail on 45RPM LP

Reference-Quality: Every Single Note, Breath, and Beat Comes to Life Right In Front of the Listener

Originally released in 1969, Dusty In Memphis is one of the most landmark albums ever recorded. It’s reputation is legion. Always graced with an exceptional voice, celebrated British singer Dusty Springfield came into her own on this soul classic, laden with sexual honesty and sublime passion. An audiophile classic for more than four decades, it’s also never sounded better than on this 200g 45RPM 2LP version, mastered from the original master tapes.

Produced and arranged by Aretha Franklin’s winning production and arrangement team of Jerry Wexler and Arif Mardin, and engineered by Tom Dowd, Dusty In Memphis features definitive cuts such as “So Much Love,” “Son of a Preacher Man,” “Breakfast in Bed,” “Just One Smile” “I Don’t Want to Hear About It Anymore,” and “Just a Little Lovin.” Ironically, Springfieldwas so afraid once she came face-to-face in Memphis with the very musicians that recorded with Franklin and Otis Reddingthat her vocals were actually overdubbed in New York.

No matter; Dusty In Memphis is true Southern soul, a pop masterpiece that has inspired countless tributes and incessant praise. Inspired, timeless, and transcendent this record belongs in every collection, especially those that value flawless vocal techniques and stunning deliveries. Springfield gets into the deep crevasses of every song, and Analogue Productions’ vinyl set makes clear every last note, breath, and chord. Find out why Dusty In Memphis has long been at the top of myriad audiophile lists by rediscovering it on the best pressing ever made.

Dusty Springfield Dusty In Memphis Track Listing:

1.  Just A Little Lovin’
2.  So Much Love
3.  Son Of A Preacher Man
4.  I Don’t Want To Hear It Anymore
5.  Don’t Forget About Me
6.  Breakfast In Bed
7.  Just One Smile
8.  The Windmills Of Your Mind
9.  In The Land Of Make Believe
10. No Easy Way Down
11. I Can’t Make It Alone
12. Willie and Laura Mae Jones
13. Hi-De-Ho (That Old Sweet Roll)
14. What Do You Do When Love Dies

Additional Information

Weight 0.5 kg
Dimensions 35 × 35 × 5 cm






Vinyl Type