Out of Stock

SKU: LAP1015. Category: .

Product Description

Mighty Sam McClain Give It Up To Love on 200g LP from Analogue Productions
Mastered from the Original Analog Tapes by Kevin Gray & Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
Mighty Sam McClain is a rhythm and blues legend who shook up the blues world with his first release for AudioQuest Music, 1993’s Give It Up To Love. Called “The great torch bearer of deep soul,” by Rolling Stone, McClain is captured in absolute top form on this classic album which received every possible accolade including Pulse! Magazine’s Blues Album of the Year for 1993.
The thrilling set finds Mighty Sam accompanied by Bruce Katz (piano, Hammond B-3 organ), Kevin Barry (guitar), Michael Rivard (bass), Lorne Entress (drums) and Bennie Wallace (tenor saxophone).
And now Analogue Productions is offering Mighty Sam McClain’s masterwork on a superior sounding 200g vinyl edition mastered from the original analog tapes by Kevin Gray and pressed at Quality Record Pressings. Housed in a old-school gatefold jacket – thick cardboard, tip-on, with additional photos and liner notes.
“McClain sings soul with incredible power – he knows when to pull the punches and when to cool it down. ‘Give It Up to Love,’ the title track, acknowledges his gospel roots; he performs it as a vocal prayer to God asking for wisdom, love, and strength. Bruce Katz’s contributions on B-3 Hammond organ expands McClain’s sound, particularly on the ‘Green Onions’-influenced ‘What You Want Me to Do.’ The sparsely effective arrangement on ‘Here I Go Falling in Love Again’ brings McClain up front as he cries of being a soul stripped to the bare bones. Kevin Barry’s funky bass blows while McClain declares himself as a child of God in ‘Child of the Mighty Mighty.'” – Analogue Productions / AMG
“Mighty Sam McClain’s Give It Up To Love is one of the great soul records.” – Stereophile
– Mighty Sam McClain (vocals)
– Bruce Katz (piano, Hammond B-3 organ)
– Kevin Barry (guitar)
– Michael Rivard (bass)
– Lorne Entress (drums)
– Bennie Wallace (tenor saxophone)
Mighty Sam McClain Give It Up To Love Track Listing:
1.  Give It Up to Love
2.  Too Proud
3.  What You Want Me to Do
4.  Here I Go Falling in Love Again
5.  Got to Have Your Love
6.  Child of the Mighty Mighty
7.  I’m Tired of These Blues
8.  I Feel Good
9.  Don’t Turn Back Now
10. Lonesome Road

Additional Information

Weight 0.5 kg
Dimensions 35 × 35 × 5 cm




Vinyl Type

Weight Class