The Wonderful Sounds of Female Vocals – Various Artists (200g Vinyl 2LP)


In Stock

SKU: LAP122. Category: . Tag: .

Product Description

New 22-Track Audiophile Sampler of Classic Performances by All-Time Great Female Singers!

Female vocalists have forever been celebrated by audiophiles and music lovers alike. Whether the delivery is delicate or bombastic, a great female vocal well-recorded is just so sensuous. It’s the genre that most often typifies the potential of hi-fi and what it can do to engage our emotions. It’s no wonder the hallways of any hi-fi show will be resonating with the sounds of sparsely-arranged recordings of great women singers. It’s the genre that best shows off the systems that manufacturers and dealers are trying to sell.

Now, you can have all of those best demo tracks in one sublime 22-track collection. Show stoppers by Julie LondonDiana KrallRickie Lee JonesNina SimoneJanis IanPhoebe SnowJennifer WarnesDusty Springfield, Shelby Lynne and many more. Every single track is an audiophile demo classic. Michael Fremer, of Analog Planet and Stereophile Magazine, walks you through each track and its historic place with very thorough and entertaining liners to boot. This 200g 2LP edition was cut by Kevin Gray, plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings and comes housed in a gatefold Stoughton tip-on jacket.

• 22-track audiophile sampler of classic performances by all-time great female singers
• 200g 2LP-set
• Lacquers cut by Kevin Gray
• Plated & pressed at Quality Record Pressings
• Packaged in a gatefold Stoughton tip-on jacket
• Liner notes by Michael Fremer of Analog Planet and Stereophile Magazine
• Also available on Hybrid SACD


  1. Cry Me A River – Julie London
  2. Black Coffee – Ella Fitzgerald
  3. Poetry Man – Phoebe Snow
  4. Son Of A Preacher Man – Dusty Springfield
  5. Just A Little Lovin’ – Shelby Lynne
  6. Show Biz Kids – Rickie Lee Jones
  7. Crazy – Patsy Cline
  8. Tennessee Waltz – Holly Cole
  9. Breaking Silence – Janis Ian
  10. Hey There – Myra Taylor
  11. What a Shame – Patricia Barber
  12. Plain Gold Ring – Nina Simone


  1. The Moon Is Made Of Gold – Rickie Lee Jones
  2. Blue Moon – Julie London
  3. Blame It on the Moon – Nancy Bryan
  4. Diamonds and Rust – Joan Baez
  5. Somebody Who Loves You – Joan Armatrading
  6. Send In the Clowns – Judy Collins
  7. Ballad Of The Runaway Horse – Jennifer Warnes
  8. A Case of You – Diana Krall
  9. The Look of Love – Dusty Springfield
  10. Brothers In Arms – Joan Baez

Additional Information

Weight 1 kg
Dimensions 38 × 35 × 5 cm

, ,





Vinyl Type