The Beach Boys – The Beach Boys’ Party&33; (Hybrid Stereo SACD)


In Stock

Quick Overview

• Hybrid Stereo/Mono SACD
• Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio from the original master tapes or best sources available
• Original mono mixes created under Brian Wilson’s supervision
• Stereo mixes produced by Mark Linett and Alan Boyd
• Compatible with both SACD and CD players
SKU: CAPSA066. Category: .

Product Description

The Beach Boys Beach Boys’ Party! on Hybrid Stereo/Mono SACD

Analogue Productions Beach Boys Reissue Series!

Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
Analogue Productions is pleased to announce that they will be reissuing 14 of the most classic, best-sounding Beach Boystitles, each expertly mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearant Audio and presented in “old style” Stoughton Printing tip-on jackets. 200g Mono editions of Surfin’ SafariSurfin’ USASurfer GirlLittle Deuce Coupe and Shut Down Vol. 2 will be issued in December 2014 followed by 200g Stereo editions of Surfin’ USASurfer GirlLittle Deuce Coupe and Shut Down Vol. 2 in January 2015. 200g Mono & Stereo editions of All Summer LongToday!Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!)Beach Boys’ Party!Pet Sounds and Smiley Smile plus 200g Stereo editions of Sunflower, Surf’s Up andHolland will follow later in 2015. Hybrid SACD editions of each album will also be available.
Apart from Surfin’ Safari, which was mono only, the Beach Boys did turn in stereo masters on all of their early albums up until 1965. Today! was the first LP for which they only delivered a mono master. But there’s no disputing that the close harmonies and one-of-a-kind rhythms of hits like “Surfer Girl,” “In My Room,” “Little Deuce Coupe” and more lend themselves naturally to stereo. So Analogue Productions has got your 2-channel needs covered with prime stereo mix versions of 13 titles as well.
The stereo editions of Surfin’ USASurfer GirlLittle Deuce CoupeShut Down Vol. 2 and All Summer Long were all mixed in stereo by their own preferred engineer, Chuck Britz, ostensibly under the group’s supervision. All of the newer stereo mixes on these remastered albums (Today!Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!)Beach Boys’ Party!Pet Sounds andSmiley Smile) were all done by Mark Linett on behalf of the Beach Boys.
“Brian may or may not have been present for those mixing sessions – evidence suggests that he trusted Chuck’s skills enough to let him prepare those mixes on his own – but the group held onto their multitrack tapes and delivered stereo masters to Capitol, rather than allowing Capitol to prepare their own stereo versions. Later, when Brian was only delivering mono masters, Capitol would prepare the Duophonic pseudo stereo editions for the stereo market,” says Alan Boyd, producer and Beach Boys’ archivist.
Mastered by Kevin Gray, most from the original master tapes or best sources available, these are awesome recordings to experience and the look of each album befits its sonic superiority. All 14 of the Beach Boys Analogue Productions reissues will be offered on Hybrid SACD with Surfin’ Safari only available on Hybrid Mono SACD and Pet Soundsoffered in 5.1 Multichannel with both the Mono and Stereo Mixes.
1965’s Beach Boys’ Party! is the third of a trio of albums the group released that calendar year and their last prior to 1966 opus Pet Sounds. The all acoustic (except for bass) 12-track set is largely comprised of covers of the band’s ’50s favorites with a medley of their own classics (“I Get Around” / “Little Deuce Coup”) recorded in the studio but presented as more of a social gathering. Includes takes on material from The Beatles (“I Should Have Known Better,” “Tell Me Why,” “You’ve Got to Hide Your Love Away”), Bob Dylan (“The Times They Are A-Changin”) and the hit single version of “Barbara Ann.”
The Beach Boys Beach Boys’ Party! Track Listing:
1.  Hully Gully
2.  I Should Have Known Better
3.  Tell Me Why
4.  Papa-Oom-Mow-Mow
5.  Mountain Of Love
6.  You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away
7.  Devoted To You
8.  Alley Oop
9.  There’s No Other (Like My Baby)
10. Medley: I Get Around / Little Deuce Coup
11. The Times They Are A-Changin’
12. Barbara Ann

Additional Information

Weight 0.1 kg