Chantal Chamberland – Temptation (2LP)


In Stock

SKU: EVLP040. Category: . Tags: , .

Product Description

French Canadian singer delivers Sultry Jazz and Blues

Temptation is a stellar example of creative courage. Given her large and loyal international audience, powerhouse Canadian jazz vocalist Chantal Chamberland could easily have played it safe by delivering an album of Songbook standards sure to please the following she has built over the last two decades.

Instead, a rigorous search for new and oft-unconventional material resulted in a generous collection of 16 songs for which the description ‘eclectic’ is an understatement. Her seventh full-length release, Temptation moves from Blues, Jazz, to Bossa and features such classics as “I Put A Spell On You” and “I Want A Little Sugar In My Bowl” nestling alongside tunes written or made famous by artists as diverse as Tom Waits, Bill Withers, Justin Timberlake and Michael Jackson, Rodriguez, Cher, U2, and modern rock band Snow Patrol.

Chamberland makes this seemingly unlikely song selection work by breathing vibrant new life into every single one, assisted by the inventive arrangement and production choices she makes and the stellar accompaniment of her carefully chosen cast of A-list players.

The diverse material, all focused on different facets of love, showcases her impressive range as a vocal stylist. While always avoiding vocal gymnastics, Chamberland moves from quiet and intimate to sultry, sensual and soulful with seamless ease. The result is a Temptation you will gladly and inevitably succumb to.

French-Canadian singer Chantal Chamberland strikes a perfect balance between the soul of the classic singer/songwriter and the dynamic verve of a jazz chanteuse. Chantal Chamberland’s sensuous, smoky voice is her trademark instrument. Temptation is a dish best served chilled. Relaxed mood during wine o’clock. Extraordinary company with a snifter of XO. Play on shuffle while soaking in some bubbles. ‘Temptation’ will carry on evosound’s tradition of making beautiful pieces for the Audiophiles and music connoisseurs. Collectables, Classics, Must Haves. 2x180g Vinyl, Limited Editions, MQACDs, SACD formats. Master Quality Authenticated sound, supported by our attention to detail in the products and packaging.

Chantal’s success internationally is not only a testament to her personal evolution but cements her role as one of the finest female interpreters of jazz today. From multiple appearances at the Montreal International Jazz Festival to headline concerts in Hong Kong to Cartagena. Chantal’s vocals move from sultry and soulful to bluesy and brassy with graceful ease. With 6 contemporary jazz pop releases, Chantal’s star shines brightly on an international stage.

Besides encouraging the purchase of our quality physical formats. ‘Temptation’ will also be available for HiRes Digital download and HD streaming. Supported by Audiophile streaming services such as TIDAL MASTERS, Qobuz, and HD Tracks to name a few…


Side 1

1. Temptation

2. Beautiful Life

3. Love Never Felt So Good

4. Miss Sarajevo

Side 2

1. Chasing Cars

2. I Put A Spell On You

3. Believe

4. Ain’t no Sunshine / I Can’t Stand the Rain

Side 3

1. I Wanna Dance With Somebody

2. I Want A Little Sugar In My Bowl

3. I Think of You

4. I Don’t Want to Talk About It

Side 4

1. Syrup and Honey

2. Mama This One’s For You

3. Simply Falling

4. Wayfaring Stranger

Additional Information

Weight 1 kg
Dimensions 38.2 × 32.5 × 3 cm