Janis Ian – Breaking Silence*** (200g 45rpm Vinyl 2LP)


Out of Stock

SKU: LAP02745. Category: . Tag: .

Product Description

Mastered for 45 RPM Vinyl by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio from the Original Analog Master Tapes!

Co-produced with Jeff BaldingBreaking Silence finds Janis Ian’s impeccable voice in its purest, most vital form ever! Recorded as live as possible, the 1992 all-analogue recording was praised far and wide for its recorded dynamics and how it showcased Ian’s immense talents like never before. It’s now available as a stunning 200g 2LP-setmastered for 45rpm vinyl by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio from the original analog master tapes, and housed in a tip-on gatefold jacket. This audiophile pressing from Quality Record Pressings fortifies both the acclaim Breaking Silence has continually received from all the high-end audio experts and its enduring status as a high-fidelity reference. Matched with Ian’s very personal songs, delivered in a voice that draws you right in, Breaking Silence is one of the very few recordings that by reproducing a pure analogue sound, has attained true audiophile status.

The album received wonderful reviews and a Grammy nomination for Best Contemporary Folk Album. “Some People’s Lives” became the title song of a double-platinum album for Bette Midler; “What About the Love” was featured on a platinum album by Amy Grant. “All Roads To the River” was originally recorded for the film Falling From Grace with John Mellencamp producing,; it was also recorded by Mellencamp himself under the title “To the River.” “Tattoo” was chosen by the government of Holland to represent their country in European festivities celebrating the 50th anniversary of World War II end. Breaking Silence was additionally voted Album of the Year by the Nashville Music Awards.

Recording Details:
All tracks were recorded at Nightingale Studio on a Studer 820, 24-track machine, 30 IPS, non-dolby, at the elevation of +6/250 nu using Ampex 499 tape. Included among the mics used on the recording dates were: Nuemann M-49, AKG C-12, Telefunken 251, Sheffield C-9 and a custom built tube direct box on the bass. Janis’ vocal was recorded using a Telefunken U-47 and a Mastering Lab mic preamp, linked with series-one Monster Cable direct to the back of the multi-track machine with no EQ or Limiting. The album was mixed at Bill Schnee Studio to an Ampex ATR 1/2″ machine, at 30 IPS, non-dolby, at the elevation of +3/250 nu on Ampex 499 tape. The reverb on the album was an EMT tube plate used along with natural room sounds captured in the recording. The album was mixed using Mastering Lab modified Tannoy SGM-10’s powered by Sherwood-Sax mono-block tube amps.

• 1992 all-analogue recording
• 200g 45rpm 2LP-set from Analogue Productions
• Mastered for 45rpm vinyl by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio from the original analog master tapes
• Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
• Tip-on gatefold jacket packaing

  1. All Roads To The River
  2. Ride Me Like A Wave
  3. Tatoo
  4. Guess You Had To Be There
  5. What About The Love
  6. His Hands
  7. Walking On Sacred Ground
  8. This Train Still Runs
  9. Through The Years
  10. This House
  11. Some People’s Lives
  12. Breaking Silence

Additional Information

Weight 1 kg
Dimensions 38 × 35 × 5 cm





Vinyl Type