Jennifer Warnes - Famous Blue Raincoat Numbered Limited Edition 180g LP (Blue Vinyl)

Jennifer Warnes – Famous Blue Raincoat Numbered Limited Edition 180g LP (Blue Vinyl) Only 1000 Copies!


In Stock

SKU: IMXLP6034. Category: . Tags: , .

Product Description

Numbered Limited Edition of Only 1000 Copies Worldwide!
Mastered by Bernie Grundman & Pressed at RTI!

To celebrate the 2019 Hong Kong Hi-End Audio Visual Show, Impex has taken their perennial audiophile favorite and given it a colorful new enhancement. This exclusive 1,000 RTI-pressed run on dazzling BLUE 180-gram vinyl retains all the audio brilliance of Jennifer Warnes’ and Roscoe Beck’s production with the silent surfaces and impeccable finish of Impex Records for a unique–and rare–experience.

In 1987 Jennifer Warnes and Roscoe Beck created an enduring interpretation of some of Leonard Cohen’s greatest songs. The resulting album Famous Blue Raincoat has remained a touchstone of American pop. It’s a recording as beautiful as the songs incisive, painstakingly created by some of the finest musicians and engineers ever assembled. It has rightfully remained immensely popular for aficionados of sound and song-craft.

On Famous Blue Raincoat: The Songs of Leonard Cohen, Jennifer Warnes rearranged and reinterpreted some of Leonard Cohen’s greatest songs for a unique album that remains the ultimate tribute to Cohen’s music.

Best known for such pop hits as the Oscar- and Grammy-winning duets “(I’ve Had) The Time of My Life” with Bill Medley, from the film Dirty Dancing, and “Up Where We Belong” with Joe Cocker, from the film An Officer and a Gentleman, Jennifer Warnes has earned her greatest acclaim for Famous Blue Raincoat, considered by many to be one of the best albums of the ’80s.

Remastered by Bernie Grundman on his all-tube cutting system, using Jennifer Warnes’ personal analog mix master and personally supervised by the artist herself, Famous Blue Raincoat is ready to be discovered by a new generation of vinyl enthusiasts seeking the purest musical alchemy, and vocal interpretation.

Originally released on LP in 1986 by Cypress Records, Famous Blue Raincoat was a sensitive tribute album of Leonard Cohen songs. Rather than hew to Cohen’s darker, weighty sensibilities, Jennifer Warnes reimagined the songs for her luminous voice and lifted the atmosphere with production gloss and light.

-Neil Gader, The Absolute Sound, 4.5/5 Music, 4.5/5 Sonics

…the greatness of Cohen’s songs endure and given the state of today’s singing–which is often just a lot of hysterical shouting (and now I sound like my parents!)–Warnes’ tastefully restrained yet intense performances here, become more rare, more precious, more beautiful and more valuable.

-Michael Fremer, Analog Planet, Music 8/11, Sound 9/11


  • Numbered, Limited Edition – 1000 Copies
  • Blue Vinyl
  • 180g Vinyl
  • All-Tube Mastering
  • Mastered by Bernie Grundman
  • Mastered from Original Analog Master Tapes
  • Pressed at RTI
  • Heavy jacket with insert


Side A:

  1. First We Take Manhattan
  2. Bird On A Wire
  3. Famous Blue Raincoat
  4. Joan Of Arc

Side B:

  1. Ain’t No Cure For Love
  2. Coming Back To You
  3. Song Of Bernadette
  4. A Singer Must Die
  5. Came So Far For Beauty

Additional Information

Weight 1 kg
Dimensions 38.2 × 32.5 × 3 cm





Vinyl Type

Weight Class