Wes Montgomery – One Night In Indy (Featuring The Eddie Higgins Trio) LP


Out of Stock

Quick Overview

  • Never-Before-Released
  • 1959 Recording Of Wes Montgomery
  • Recorded Live In Indianapolis
  • 12″ LP limited Edition Pressing Of 1500
  • 180G
  • Pressed By Record-Technology In.c (RTI)
  • Mastered By Bernie Grundman
SKU: HLP-9018. Category: .

Product Description

Wes Montgomery – One Night In Indy (Featuring The Eddie Higgins Trio) LP

About the album

Resonance Records will release three exclusive, limited edition LPs: Selections from Getz/Gilberto ’76, Wes Montgomery One Night In Indy (featuring The Eddie Higgins Trio) and Selections from Larry Young in Paris – The ORTF Recordings.

Resonance Records, once again, has unearthed and brought to the surface unreleased musical gems found in archival vaults in San Francisco, Indianapolis and Paris. You’ll find solace that these dangling carrots are sneak peeks of upcoming full length albums to be released by Resonance in the upcoming years.

Stan Getz and João Gilberto reunite in 1976 with these previously unreleased recordings from San Francisco’s famed Keystone Korner, Selections from Getz/Gilberto ’76. This Limited Edition 10” record commemorates performances that are one of the few times this duo collaborated in the 1970’s, nearly twelve years after their award-winning Getz/Gilberto release on Verve.

Resonance Records collaborated with the proprietor of Keystone Korner, Todd Barkan, along with other contributors, to acquire these tapes and then cleared rights with the Stan Getz Estate and other musicians including Joao Gilberto. As the title suggests, this is a sneak peak of the upcoming full length Getz/Gilberto ’76 due for release (CD & 2-LP sets) by Resonance Records in 2015/2016.

Puerto Rican abstract expressionist painter, Olga Albizu, graces the cover with her artwork “Equilibrium Verde” (her work was also used for other Stan Getz releases including Jazz Samba and Getz/Gilberto). This collector’s LP (with a limited pressing of 3000) is pressed on translucent green-colored 140 gram vinyl at 33 1/3 RPM by Erika Records. Listeners will enjoy popular bossa nova tunes: E Preciso Perdoar (One Must Forgive), Doralice, Eu Vim da Bahia, Retrato Em Branco E Preto. Along with saxophonist Stan Getz, the recording features Joanne Brackeen on piano, Clint Houston on bass, Billy Hart on drums, with João Gilberto on vocals/guitar.

Next up for gem seekers is a 1959 Indianapolis jazz club performance that unites Wes Montgomery with legendary jazz pianist Eddie Higgins and his trio in this never-before- released recording Wes Montgomery One Night In Indy (featuring The Eddie Higgins Trio). The original tapes formerly belonged to the late-great Indiana photo journalist, Duncan Schiedt, who passed away in 2014. Members of the Indianapolis Jazz Club that Scheidt co-ran recorded this performance.
As Producer Zev Feldman notes, “In 2013, Duncan contacted me about tapes he had of Wes playing with Higgins at a jazz club society that he and a bunch of his friends ran in Indy.

The senior members of the club continually passed down this found tape to younger members of the club; Duncan was the last living member, and he passed these tapes onto me. Duncan hoped that these tapes would be released one day in partnership with the family, which is exactly what we’ve done,” with the blessing of Higgins’ widow, Meredith D’Ambrosio, whom Feldman found via Sunnyside Records president, François Zalacain.
Feldman adds, “Duncan & I became friends while working on the Echoes of Indiana Avenue project. I’m grateful to Duncan for his lasting friendship and for sharing this with the world to hear. It is nothing short of amazing that after decades of no new Montgomery music, Resonance has brought to light new documents that will help Wes’s legacy live on – the upcoming May 2015 release of In the Beginning and, thanks to Duncan, One Night In Indy.”

This Limited Edition 12” LP (pressing of 2500) will be presented on 180 gram vinyl at 33 1/3 RPM by Erika Records and includes over 40 minutes of music. Tracks include: Give Me the Simple Life, Prelude to A Kiss, Stompin’ at the Savoy, Li’l Darling, Ruby My Dear, You’d Be So Nice to Come Home to. With a cityscape view of Indianapolis suggesting a night to be remembered, Burton Yount artistically designed the cover. This music will be featured on a forthcoming 2016/2017 Resonance Records release.

And yet another discovery, from the National Audiovisual Institute (INA) in France which includes the Office of Radio and Television (ORTF) archives, Resonance presents Selections from Larry Young In Paris – The ORTF Recordings, featuring never-before-released 1964- 1965 live and studio recordings from American jazz organist & pianist, Larry Young. This project came about in 2012 when

Resonance began to inquire what was in the ORTF archives (now a part of INA, the National Audiovisual Institute). Feldman discovered that these Larry Young recordings had been sitting in their vault for nearly 50 years since the mid ‘60’s. This project tells the story of Larry Young as an American jazz artist living in Paris. Featured artists include Woody Shaw on trumpet, Nathan Davis on saxophone and Billy Brooks on drums and numerous French artists (Nathan Davis Quartet recordings are included in this release).

This Limited Edition 10” record is pressed on 140 gram vinyl at 33 1/3 RPM by Erika Records (pressing of 1500). Tracks include: Beyond All Limits, Luny Tune, Frame of Thought & Larry’s Blues. The cover is artistically designed by Burton Yount using a previously unpublished photograph by Francis Wolff/Mosaic Images. In 2015/2016, listeners can look forward to a 2-CD  and 3-LP full length edition.

Resonance Records continues to bring archival recordings to light. Some past releases include the critically acclaimed, John Coltrane Offering: Live at Temple University, Charles Lloyd Manhattan Stories, Wes Montgomery Echoes of Indiana Avenue and Bill Evans Live at Art D’Lugoff’sTop of the Gate. Located in Beverly Hills, CA, Resonance Records is a division of the Rising Jazz Stars Foundation, a California 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation created to discover the next jazz stars. Resonance Artists include Richard Galliano, Polly Gibbons, Tamir Hendelman, Christian Howes & Donald Vega to name a few.

Track Listing

  1. Give Me the Simple Life
  2. Prelude to A Kiss
  3. Stompin’ at the Savoy
  4. Li’l Darling
  5. Ruby My Dear
  6. You’d Be So Nice to Come Home


Additional Information

Weight 0.5 kg
Dimensions 35 × 35 × 5 cm




, ,

Vinyl Type

Weight Class